Weekend Construction 5/7 – 5/10

Local 4 Traffic Blog by: Lauren Podell

The following construction activities are planned for the weekend beginning Friday, May 7 thru Monday, May 10. As always, some of this work maybe postponed due to adverse weather or any unforseen circumstance.

One total closure is scheduled.

I-96
In Detroit:

Eastbound and westbound I-96 will be closed between Grand River/Schaefer and Joy Road for bridge demolition. The full closure begins at 5 a.m. and ends at 8 p.m. on Saturday. The eastbound detour will use Grand River Avenue to the eastbound service drive to enter eastbound I-96 at Joy. The westbound detour will utilize the westbound service drive from Joy to Grand River.

In conjunction to the full closure:
The eastbound express lanes will be closed at Outer Drive from 9 p.m. on Friday until 7 a.m. on Sunday.
Eastbound and westbound I-96, between Livernois and Davison, will have a three lane closure (single lane open) from 9 p.m. on Friday until 7 a.m. on Sunday.

I-94
In St. Clair County:

the entrance ramp from Fred Moore Highway to eastbound I-94 will be closed beginning at 6 a.m. on Friday until late May for reconstruction. Ramp traffic will be directed to Wadhams Road.

In Macomb County:

Beginning at 10 p.m. on Saturday until 8 a.m. on Sunday, the ramp from westbound I-94 to westbound I-696 will be closed for construction. A detour will be posted.

Beginning at 10 a.m. on Sunday the entrance ramp from 12 Mile Road to westbound I-94 will be closed until early Nov. for work at the I-94/I-696 interchange. A detour will be posted.

Beginning at 10 p.m. on Friday, and ending at 9 a.m. on Saturday, the eastbound I-94 ramp to westbound I-696 will be closed. A detour will be posted.

Beginning at 10 p.m. on Friday, the eastbound I-94 exit ramp to 11 Mile Road is closed until late June for construction at the I-94/I-696 interchange. A detour will be posted. 

In Wayne County:

Bridge work will require a right lane closure on eastbound I-94 over I-275 starting at 6 a.m. and ending at Noon on Saturday. From 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Sunday, the left and center lanes will be closed. 

Beginning at 6 a.m. on Saturday and ending by 5 a.m. on Monday, the left and center lanes of westbound I-94 will be closed at I-275 for bridge repair.

I-696
In Macomb County:

The 11 Mile Road entrance ramp to westbound I-696 will be closed from 10 a.m. on Saturday until late June for construction at the I-94/I-696 interchange.

M-10 (Lodge Freeway)
In Oakland County:

Beginning at 9 p.m. on Friday and ending at 5 a.m. on Monday, the northbound M-10 exit to 9 Mile Road will be closed. Traffic will be directed to exit at 8 Mile.

M-39 (Southfield Freeway)
In Detroit:

 Northbound and southbound M-39 will be reduced to a single lane between M-153 (Ford Road) and McNichols Road for resurfacing. The double lane closures begin at 9 p.m. on Friday and end by 5 a.m. on Monday.

M-59
In Macomb County:

Eastbound and westbound M-59 will have two lanes closed between I-94 and Elizabeth Street for pavement repair. The two lane closures begin at 8 p.m. on Saturday and end at 3 p.m. on Monday.

In Oakland County:

The right lane of eastbound and westbound M-59 will be closed between Williams Lake Road and Airport Road for pavement repair beginning at 7 p.m. on Friday and ending at 6 a.m. on Monday.

M-3 (Gratiot Avenue)
In Macomb County:

Southbound M-3 will have two lanes closed from Cass Avenue to Sunnyview Street beginning at 9 p.m. on Friday until 5 a.m. on Monday.

Dixie Highway
In Oakland County:

Scheduled to begin at 9 a.m. on Monday, May 10, southbound Dixie Highway will be reduced to a single lane at Telegraph Road for intersection improvements. The lane closures will remain in place until the end of May.

Leave a Reply

