Weekend Construction: 4/23 – 4/26

Local 4 Traffic Blog by: Lauren Podell

And here we go again! Another round of weekend construction is upon us. Before you make your weekend plans check out this list to make sure you won’t run into any closures before you hit the road!

I-94/I-696 interchange in Macomb County:

– Crews will close the entrance ramp from 11 Mile Road to eastbound I-94 for reconstruction. The ramp closure is scheduled to begin Saturday at 10 a.m. and remain closed until late June. A detour will be posted.

– Crews will close the exit ramp from eastbound I-696 to 11 Mile Road for reconstruction. The ramp closure is expected to begin Saturday at 10 a.m. and remain closed until early June. A detour will be posted.

– Eastbound I-696 will close from Gratiot to I-94 during the overnight hours for ongoing construction. The closure will begin at 11 p.m. on Friday and open by 8 a.m. on Saturday, and again at 11 p.m. on Saturday until 10 a.m. on Sunday. During the full closure, westbound traffic will be directed to 8 Mile Road to westbound I-94, while eastbound traffic will be directed to use 12 Mile Road to access eastbound I-94.

I-696 in Macomb County:

Eastbound and westbound I-696 will have two lanes closed between Dequindre and Van Dyke for bridge work. The two lane closure will begin at 5 a.m. on Saturday and end by 5 a.m. on Monday.

I-96 in Detroit:

The eastbound and westbound I-96 ramps to southbound M-39 will be closed for the ongoing resurfacing project on M-39. Each ramp will close at 9 p.m. on Friday and end by 5 a.m. on Sunday. Detours will be posted for each ramp closure.

M-59 in Oakland County:

– Eastbound and westbound M-59 will have the right lane closed between Williams Lake and Airport roads for pavement repair. The single lane closures begin at 7 p.m. on Friday and end by 6 a.m. on Monday.
– Northbound and southbound Dequindre Road under M-59 will be closed for bridge work. The closure begins at 9 p.m. on Friday and ends by 9 p.m. on Sunday. A detour will be posted for each direction of Dequindre. This work is in conjunction with the ongoing widening project on M-59 between Crooks and Ryan roads.

US-12 (Michigan Avenue) in Detroit:

The two right lanes of eastbound and westbound US-12 will be closed between Livernois and Clark streets for a new resurfacing project. The double lane closures begin at 8 a.m. on Monday, 4/26. Details of this project are included in the attached press announcement.

M-39 (Southfield Freeway) in Detroit:

Northbound and southbound M-39 will be reduced to a single lane between M-153 (Ford Road) and McNichols Road for ongoing resurfacing. The lane closures begin at 9 p.m. on Friday and end by 5 a.m. on Sunday.

M-10 (Lodge Freeway) in Detroit:

Northbound and southbound M-10 will have a double lane closure for bridge painting at 8 Mile Road. The two lane closures begin at 9 p.m. on Friday and end by 9 p.m. on Sunday. Beginning at Noon and ending at 2 p.m. on Sunday, southbound M-10 will have two lanes open for traffic heading to Joe Louis Arena for the NHL Playoff game.  

******************************************

STARTING MONDAY:

I-275:
In Wayne County, scheduled to occur on Friday, 4/23, crews will open the ramp from northbound I-275 to westbound I-94.
Scheduled to begin at 9 a.m. on Monday, 4/26, crews will close the ramp from northbound I-275 to eastbound I-94 for ramp reconstruction.  A detour will be posted directing drivers west on I-94 to Haggerty Road, and using Haggerty to access eastbound I-94. The ramp is expected to remain closed until early June.

I-94:
In Wayne County, scheduled to begin at 9 a.m. on Monday, 4/26, crews will close the right lane of westbound I-94 at I-275 for interchange work. The right lane closure is expected to be removed by Friday, 4/30.

Leave a Reply

